El primer paso que te llevará muy lejos

Tu doctorado en la Universidad de Zaragoza

Estudia en una ciudad amable y acogedora

Tu doctorado en la Universidad de Zaragoza

Desarrolla con nosotros tu Career Plan

Tu doctorado en la Universidad de Zaragoza

Te ayudamos a lograr tus objetivos

Tu doctorado en la Universidad de Zaragoza

The University of Zaragoza: A different university in an exceptional place

The University of Zaragoza (UZ) is a Spanish public institution of teaching and research created in 1542 that combines almost five centuries of history with the continuous updating of its academic activity.

With centers and faculties on several campuses, the University stands out for its strong links to the region as well as its modernity and excellence; its aspiration is to be an instrument of social transformation and integral development of its surroundings that nonetheless plays
a relevant role in an increasingly globalized world.
The UZ headquarters are located in the welcoming, supportive, and lively city Zaragoza – an exceptional situation, equidistant to the major Spanish cities.

Doctorate at the University of Zaragoza

The University of Zaragoza facilitates the realization of exceptionally interesting doctoral theses thanks to both intense research work and close relations with numerous companies.
Currently, some 3, 177 researchers are attached to 170 research groups, with most groups integrated into one of 15 interdisciplinary institutes and research centers.

Due to this research potential, the University of Zaragoza ranks as one of the 10 best universities in Spain and among the top 2°/o of most prestigious universities in the world. UZ excels particularly in Sports Sciences, being number 1 in Spain and among the top 25 in the world. lt is also placed first among Spanish universities in Chemistry and fourth in Computer Science, also taking high positions in world rankings for both disciplines.

The University of Zaragoza also ranks first in Spain for its number of lnstitutional and Business Chairs (Cátedras institucionales y de empresa – an initiative aimed at promoting research, development, and innovation through collaboration between the University and the 78
institutions and companies holding these chairs).

Doctoral Programs

The Doctoral School of the University of Zaragoza offers 47 doctoral programs from all disciplines, 10 of which are shared with other Spanish universities, ensuring a wider range of research lines, grants, and contracts associated with research groups as well as greater access to training activities.

The programs are organised in five branches: Arts and Humanities, Science, Social Sciences and Law, Health Sciences and Engineering and Architecture.

Info about the programs can be found in the presentation brochures (brochures section) as well as in the webinar series carried out to disseminate our doctoral studies in Iberoamerica (webinars section).

More detailed information about carrying out a doctorate at the University of Zaragoza can be found in the general web of the Doctoral School  and in its English versión.

Foreign Students

The Doctoral School hosted 463 international students in the 2020-2021 academic year, representing 19% of our PhD students.

Since the 2012-2013 academic year, more than a hundred agreements have been signed with foreign universities for cotutelle (joint-doctorate) theses, and more than 600 students have carried out research stays at prestigious international universities and institutions as part of their training.

A mentoring program for foreign doctoral students facilitates the integration of international students (enlace a Iberus connect).

The Doctoral School disseminates among its doctoral students national and international calls for mobility grants.
For mobility within Europe, the Erasmus+ program stands out for its modalities of research stays and internships in both companies and research institutions.

In addition, there are several specific calls to promote the mobility of Ibero-American doctoral students.

For specific doctoral activities -international stays and cotutelles or joint doctorates- and mobilities, University of Zaragoza is integrated into two interuniversity consortia with other universities, both Spanish and foreign. One is Campus lberus, which along with UZ includes the Spanish Universities of La Rioja, Lleida, and Pública de Navarra.
The second consortium is the European University UNITA Universitas Montium which includes the universities of Beira Interior (Portugal), Pau and Savoie Montblanc (France), Turin (ltaly), and Timisoara (Romania).

Both consortia offer specific mobility opportunities for doctoral students from member universities.

See mobility opportunities in the calls section.

More detailed information about carrying out a doctorate at the University of Zaragoza can be found in the general web of the Doctoral School  and in its English versión.






Web developed thanks to the support of the Office of the Vice President for Internationalization and Cooperation